Emporia-Greensville voters will head to the polls today to choose a sheriff, clerk of court and leadership in several capacities.

A special election will determine who sits as the clerk of court. JoAnne S. Conner filled the seat in March following the retirement of 51-year clerk veteran Robert C. Wrenn. Conner is running to retain the seat. George E. Morrison, III and Linda B. Edwards are also vying for the position.

All city and county voters are eligible to vote for Clerk of court. They will also have an opportunity to cast their ballot for Greensville County Sheriff. Incumbent W.T. “Tim” Jarratt is facing a challenge from Stephen E. King.

Emporia voters will join those of the county to help decide Emporia-Greensville’s Commonwealth Attorney, 75th District state house of delegates and 18th District senator. The only one of the three being contested is state house. Incumbent Roslyn C. Tyler—D is facing a challenge from H. Otto Wachsmann, Jr. — R.

The Greensville County Board of Supervisors have two incumbents facing challengers on the ballot. District 1 Incumbent Raymond L. Bryant, Jr. is being challenged by Belinda D. Astrop. In District 2 James R. Brown is challenging incumbent Michael W. Ferguson.

Though incumbent District 3 Supervisor William B. “Bill” Cain is running unopposed on the ballot, former District 3 representative Jacqueline Taylor Jordan. Cain defeated Jordan and two others last November in a special election to fill the seat of the late Dr. Margaret Lee.

Only one of the four county school board incumbents is facing a challenge Tuesday. Drexel W. Pierce, Jr. seeks to unseat District 4 incumbent Alexis E. Jones.

The polls open at 6 a.m. Tuesday and will remain open until 7 p.m. Follow the Independent-Messenger on Facebook and emporiaindependentmessenger.com after the polls close Tuesday for election updates. We will have the complete results from until the last ballot is counted and reported.