Students who participated in the creation of the video are: Brooke Battle, Meredith  Taylor, Zakhia Cain, Imoni Lee, Makayla Bryant, Renata Hardy, Zykeem Fields, Dalton Whitby, Jada Givens, Kristina Jenkins, Joshua Howerton, Gavin Moseley, Dalton Moseley, Jerome Moleno, Vini Tran, Joshua Sutton, Raminah Jones.

The Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA) is a voluntary, nonpartisan organization of Virginia school boards. VSBA offers a variety of services to school divisions in Virginia.

The services offered include board training, policy service, legal services, school division updates, assistance to school division looking for superintendents, training, and conferences for school staff. VSBA’s mission is to assist Virginia schools in promoting excellence in public education through advocacy, training and services.

VSBA Annual Convention is held each year in Williamsburg. The conference is said to be the largest VSBA meeting of the year. School board members, superintendents, and school staff from all parts of Virginia look forward to this conference every year. This year’s conference will be Nov. 20-22.

One of the events hosted by VSBA during the conference is ‘The Student Video Contest.” This year the theme for the video contest is “Virginia is for Learners.”

Students’ videos should illustrate multiple ways learning occurs in public schools across Virginia. The input of students regarding tools for learning is vital. What better way to teach than to use what a student says works for them?

Each school division was invited to submit one 30-second video that conveys the contest theme. Criteria for judging the videos are how well the topic is covered, the quality of the production and the creativity of the video. Students cannot receive professional assistance during production. The format of the video is up to the students. Videos can be a commercial, news broadcast, music video, etc.

The winning video, the top three videos, and the videos identified by the judges as Honorable Mentions will receive recognition at the VSBA Annual Convention.

Greensville County Public School (GCPS) Division is excited and proud to announce that this year our students will be participating in the video contest. Good Luck to our students.

Thanks go out to Instructional Technology Teachers Tammie Parrott and Charles Ross for supervising the students.